4 Things School Never Taught Me

HEADER

Photo credits

There are a lot of things that I realized once I entered Senior High School, and these are just some of the things that I learned. As I am writing this, I am currently in the middle of my stay-cation (because I really love staying at home), but instead of moping around I try to learn new things and more importantly, being able to reflect on the past school year and the opportunities I’ve missed and what would’ve been if I wasn’t afraid or if I took courage or anything. It might be different for you, because we all have unique experiences in life that makes us who we are, but I hope that this can help you in finding the real essence in learning.

UNO

To be honest, I am afraid of rejections. I am afraid of taking risks because I am unsure of what is going to happen in the future. Fear is one thing that hinders me from my dreams. But what if every “no” brings me one step closer to my goal? I will never know unless I try.

DOS

Since elementary, we were always taught to be always on top of the game, that to be average is death.

When I entered UST, I realized I was just an average student in the real world. But I find it advantageous, because I have a lot of talented people guiding me throughout the way, and I realized that people who really excel in their craft are not afraid of sharing their knowledge to others. Having mentors who are passionate in learning gives me more opportunity to acquire more knowledge and improve.

TRES

That my worth is not based on my card grades, nor my awards; I am so much more than that.

QUATRO

This applies to friendships, or the time we spent with the people we love (because juggling your academics and organizations is hard if you still want to have a social life). But I also find this applicable with my life in Junior High School.

I’ve committed to various organizations (Student Council, Aerospace Cadets of The Philippines, Performing Arts Elective, etc) and at the same time being able to ace in my academics. But after all the labels were gone, it was hard for me to figure out what I really want and what I am good at. I was so focused in getting good grades that I didn’t even realized that I hated Science (which is now ironic because I am a STEM student).

I have to stick with what I am passionate about. I have to set my identity instead of trying to do various things at once.

And I hope that as I enter another school year, I will be able to focus more on the things that matter. (And I hope that you will too, whether you are a high school/college student, or a student of life).

(We’ll do this together, laban!)

Leave a Reply

